LAHORE: The Board of Revenue has notified four new districts – Wazirabad, Murree, Kot Addu and Talagang – out of five approved by Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvez Elahi, as the fifth – Taunsa Sharif – is likely to be notified next week soon after realignment of Fort Munro Tehsil touching DG Khan District.

Some politicians have approached the provincial government demanding Fort Munro tehsil to join Dera Ghazi Khan district, which is only 30 km away, while the same tehsil is more than 100 km from Townsa Sharif, sources said.

It would be relatively unfeasible for a large population to look to Townsa Sharif for solving their problems, they complained.

It is learned that the BoR will move a summary of the attachment of Fort Munro with DG Khan, in place of Taunsa Sharif, early next week.

The Punjab government will be required to establish a complete district administrative set-up in the new districts after notification.

Each district will have district offices of all provincial departments. Each district will receive a separate budget for its functioning.

In the new local government set-up, the new districts will have district councils and the latest Punjab Local Self-Government Act may need to be amended.

The chief minister gave approval for demarcation of five new districts on the instructions of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan in a meeting on Thursday.

Senior BoR member Zahid Akhtar Zaman gave a detailed briefing on the new districts in Punjab in the meeting.

Posted in Zora, October 16, 2022

Source link